Posted in English 4

Mowing the lawn for the first time.

I mowed the lawn a few weeks ago and it was very hard!  I didn’t have to weed eat which made my job a whole lot easier.  Mowing the lawn helped me realise that work is hard, but it pays off.

My mom wanted me to get some work ethic by mowing the lawn.  My sister did it before me and when she mowed the lawn, there was way more grass to sweep up.  When I mowed the lawn there was a breeze and I didn’t have to sweep as much.  I wore shorts and a tank top, I made a horrible mistake.  The grass came at me like sharp, tiny blades straight to my bare and dirty legs.  My mom mowed a big patch of weeds and grass while I swept around the sidewalk.  I missed sweeping the sides and the back, so we had to sweep it all again, unfortunately.  It took me nearly two hours to mow and sweep.  The grass still looked great a few days after I mowed it.

I feel really good about doing a great job on mowing for the first time and it really helped me see what my mom had to do 4 times a month.  I made an arrangement with my mom to earn technology time by mowing the lawn once a month.   So, not only does this help my mom, I also get something out of it.  This is a good deal for both of us, it is symbiotic.  Next time it should be easier  because now I know how to dress appropriately and how to do all the steps in order to mow the lawn.  An added bonus is that I am building muscles and character.

Author:

Hi, my name is Ella. I love llamas and cats. My favorite colors are pink and blue.

Leave a Reply

