Posted in English 6, Field Trip 6, Science 6, typing

My Activity-Packed Week.

Coral Castle:  Last Wednesday, my mom, dad, sister and I drove our van a little over five and a half hours to see a mysterious masterpiece that has confused thousands of people since 1921 (the year Coral Castle construction began).  Edward Leedskalnin, the creator of the Coral Castle, weighing only one hundred pounds and five feet tall, cut, carved and moved every single piece of coral by himself.  I was amazed at his creations and work but, my favorite items he carved were the chairs in the throne room.  Five detailed chairs made for Ed, himself, which was the most comfortable chair in the whole castle, his wife (if he was to marry), two small kid chairs and the least comfortable chair, which was designed to be rough and sharp was for his mother in-law (if he was to get married).  (Coral Castle entrance pictured above).  If you would like to visit Coral Castle, copy and paste this link:  https://coralcastle.com/.

John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park:  After Coral Castle, we drove down to John Pennekamp State Park. It was beautiful, except for a few minor details.  There were too many rocks in our area of the campsite.  Before dinner, my family and I walked down to the beach to snorkel, but even though there were still rocks everywhere, the water was refreshing and had a huge variety of fish.  We swam for a few minutes and then headed back to make delicious, juicy burgers for supper.  After the amazing burgers were eaten we ate s’mores and my sister and I fell asleep watching a movie afterwards.

Key West:  Waking up was rough because the beds were extremely soft and comfy, somehow I found the motivation to get up though.  We had breakfast on the road and roughly three hours later we arrived at the southern most point of the continental US!  We were able to take a few pictures before more people started crowding in.  Since it was getting late, we decided to stop at another camp ground, Sigsbee, a little earlier than we thought.  They happily let us in and gave us the last spot right next to the water.  It was absolutely gorgeous and my sister and I got into our swimsuits and jumped right in, closely followed by our parents.  To my amazement, the ground was just covered in coral!  A good two hours went swiftly by and we got out to make dinner.  Just like the night before, my sister and I fell asleep watching a movie after eating s’mores.

Making Blankets for Homeless Veterans:  We drove back home and right around the corner was another event.  By far my favorite activity that week, making blankets was so much fun!  Nothing from the blankets went to waste, I even took some extra pieces to make scarves, cat toys and dog toys. Lots of volunteers showed up to help and we all successfully made sixty-four blankets, before we ran out of materials to make them.  Next month everyone is aiming to create one hundred blankets!  I’m so grateful I was able to help a homeless veteran in need.

Kennedy Space Center:  My family and I drove a couple of hours to Kennedy Space Center for our friend’s birthday.  This tourist destination, was packed with facts about space, space craft and the future of space travel.  I wasn’t thrilled about going because he is more Thea’s friend, not mine.  Even though I didn’t enjoy most of the park, I loved all of the 3D movies and interactive games!  If you would like to go, copy and paste this link:  https://www.kennedyspacecenter.com/.

Author:

Hi, my name is Sam. This blog is an online record of everything I do for homeschool.

2 thoughts on “My Activity-Packed Week.

Leave a comment